PA Jazz Collective

Artist Showcase

In association with Minsi Ridge Records, PAJAZZ now represents select jazz artists & groups.

Co-op Bop

  • Alan Gaumer- Trumpet & Percussion
  • Nelson Hill – Alto & Soprano Sax
  • Tom Hamilton – Tenor Sax & Flute
  • Tom Kozic – Guitar
  • Craig Kastelnik – Hammond B3 Organ & Synthsizers
  • Gary Rissmiller – Drum Set
  • Special Guest Hector Rosado- Congas

At Elm St.Studios- Conshohocken, Pa. W/Rob Hyman (owner) v Jim McGee, Engineer

With associations dating back to childhood, Co-op Bop has been performing together over four decades. Growing up in the post be-bop era of the 1960’s, it should be evident that they were influenced by a wide array of styles. The collective merging of ideas allows for continual inspiration. New material is consistently contributed to an already extensive book. Each live performance  rings new dimensions to their material.

Co-op Bop’s format is built around a standard Organ trio with a three horn section of Trumpet, Alto & Tenor sax. Multiple woodwind doubles and  percussion are a big part of the overall musical landscape. All the members of Co-op have thriving individual careers.

They have individually and/or collectively recorded and performed with a long list of world recognized jazz artists including: Phil Woods, Randy Brecker, Al Cohn, Bill Watrous, Urbie Green, Bob Dorough, Dave Liebman, Lew Tabackan, George Young, Vic Juris, Howard  Roberts, Maria Schneider, Maynard Furgeson and more.

Co-op Bop was inspirational in the development of the Pennsylvania Jazz Collective.

Listen to a sample of their music below or download the demo here

Sample track list (all original compositions)

  • Four by Eight -T. Kozic
  • Tell Me A Joke – T. Kozic
  • Mideastern Nights – T. Kozic
  • Horn Dog – A. Gaumer
  • Dark Side – N. Hill
  • Just For A Moment – T. Kozic
  • Cucumbersville – A. Gaumer


Celebration Saxophone Quartet

  • Nelson Hill-Soprano Saxophone
  • Matt Vashlishan-Alto Saxophone
  • Neil Wetzel- Tenor Saxophone
  • Jay Rattman-Baritone Saxophone
  • Phil Markowitz-Piano (Tracks 6-9)

Phil Woods was known for constantly revising his work. In addition to writing for jazz quartet, little big band and full big band, he also wrote more through composed classical-type pieces. This recording combines all of those parameters into one by featuring the latest revisions of some of Phil’s well known sax quartet music, along with his well known Sonata for Alto Sax and Piano. The members of the quartet are all local to the Delaware Water Gap in Pennsylvania and had a relationship with Phil, rehearsing all of this music with him before his passing in 2015.

Listen below for some sample tracks!

Three Improvs – Presto


Deer Head Sketches